Home > Uncategorized > Males in Education

Males in Education

If you’re a male like me in the Education Program (particularily elementary years), you would know first hand that the male to female ratio is somewhat… skewed. What troubles me is the certain perception that females may get about their male colleagues. You can hear a lot of “man-bashing” in education circles (especially when they think nobody can hear it). In 1 and a half short years I’ve heard numerous assumptions of all male elementary teachers from being power hungry, being homosexual, and even so far as some deeply offensive stuff that I do not wish to discuss on here. The one I heard today also got under my skin. “Males do not make as good a parent as females”.

All I could think of was wooooooooooow. Obviously something needs to be said now. I asked what exactly this statement was based on. “Look at single parent households. 9 times out of 10 it is the mother taking care of the children by herself”. Granted I came from a single parent household raised by my mother but I still feel that is a huge leap in logic. Yes I turned out O.K. and argueably better than had I been raised by my father, but there are also some major developmental experiences that could have been a lot easier with the assistance of a male role model. The idea that one gender is inherently better than another at raising a child seems incredibly closed minded to me.

I would like to remind the women of my program, on behalf of all the men, that we are here for the exact same reason that you are. We too carry a strong appreciation for growth and learning and wish to make just as a positive impact on our students as you. It is a shame that a caring and nurturing nature is seen traditionally as “feminine” and for a male to posess such qualities is seen skeptically or without acceptance.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 1, 2009 at 8:07 PM

    Perhaps things have simply mirrored the educational climate of three or four decades ago. Women fought hard to gain a place in high schools and there are still a disproportionate number of men in administration. Universally, my female colleagues support my place in the elementary team. I do know the irritation of playful jibes about the novelty of my washing dishes in the staff room. I might have thought that would have faded away sometime in the 1970s.

    By the time you and my son Joel have taught thirty years you may find that along with all the other transformations that take place, things will have swung the other way again.

  2. mathejus
    December 4, 2009 at 12:07 PM

    Well said Nathan.
    As a male in the same program, I have also heard the snide comments and stuff like that.
    I think it’s kind of ironic how all we have learned about is equality and equal opportunities and the ones who are supposed to be the “better teachers” are the ones who are being sexist.

  3. desnoyeg
    December 5, 2009 at 2:18 PM

    You raise an interesting point Nathan. I think that males and females can both be great teachers. I have had both great and not-so-great female teachers just as I have had some great and not-so-great male teachers. Gender does not determine whether or not someone can or will be a good teacher. Good for you for bringing attention to this topic.

  1. December 1, 2009 at 6:06 PM

Leave a Reply

