Home > Uncategorized > Multiple Degrees in the Education Industry

Multiple Degrees in the Education Industry

In Saskatchewan, the STF has worked very diligently to ensure that all teachers are paid well and fairly for the job they are doing. Below is the salary grid negotiated through the Provincial Collective Bargaining Agreement:

STF Salary Grid

As these terms expire at the end of August, I would like to point out a certain issue that I feel should be addressed.  Why should the number of degrees a beginning teacher has increase his/her salary? Personally, I feel a degree shows how well you can learn, not how well you can teach. If two teachers both have no experience yet one has another degree than the other, there is still no clear determination of who the better teacher is. If anything, would a 2nd degree not be detrimental to a beginning teacher?

According to the grid, a teacher with no experience and multiple bachelor degrees is almost identically paid to a teacher with 1 year experience and 1 degree. Assuming that teacher had a good year and received a good reference, wouldn’t that person be favored over the teacher who studied the theory for longer? I suppose my main question is what is more valuable – theory or practice?

I was discussing this/disagreeing with a colleague of mine. Personally, I would always value practice and experience over theory and degrees. I feel that the salary grid should be adjusted so that all teachers starting out should be paid equally no matter the number of degrees they hold. In fairness, however, I feel that the raises given to those with multiple degrees should be higher to those who continue to stay with one degree. Flaws? Incessant rambling? Let me know!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 7, 2009 at 7:11 AM

    I suppose it is all about encouraging teachers to continue to upgrade themselves. I suppose by your argument above the acquisition of additional education degrees might be worth more than an arts or science because it contributes directly to learning.

    I think the argument was that multiple degrees meant you knew more and therefore could teach more to your students. Your musings reflect the change in our priorities I think. Knowing the content and concepts is still important, we have to help our students navigate through the complexities of an unknown intellectual geography, but how well we do this has become far more important to us. Being the expert on content is not as important as the actual process of teaching. I have a BEd and a year of post graduate studies toward an MEd. I was a year away from a BA when I switched to education. While I might increase my salary by completing that degree, I don`t think it would reflect my having become a better teacher.

    The groundwork on this is laid in university but mastery comes to us in our own time through practice. The salary scale reflects that greater reality in an imperfect way. There is alway talk of pay on the basis of merit. It sounds good in theory, but it is also very problematic. Sometimes it is best to keep things simple.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

